I lay here in darkness.

A streak of light from the window

piercing the dark sheet over the room.

Yellow it is,

lighting the ignored corner.

I lay here

reflecting over the opposite wall.

Empty darkness separates us.

The noises of humanity creep in.

The window failing to shut them out.

The clouded thoughts run wild in my mind.

The noises echo inside me.

I feel the darkness soak in.

Better than the utter emptiness,

yeah it is.

And I rise up to switch on the lamps

determined to take on the dreadful life ahead.

Don’t know what gave me the strength-

The light of lamps or the darkness’ dead!

 

Leave a Reply

